Book Review: The Kite Runner

by Carrie Thompson on December 8, 2006

by Carrie Thompson | December 8th, 2006  

Kite Runner* Title: The Kite Runner
* Author: Khaled Hosseini
* Year Published: 2003
* Details: Paperback, 400 pages
* Awards/Recognitions: NYT Bestseller, SF Chronicle Best Book of the Year, Entertainment Weekly Top Ten Fiction Pick, American Library Association Notable Book, American Place Theatre’s Literature to Life Award
* BTL Recommends: Definitely
* Key Locations: Kabul, Afghanistan and San Francisco
* Review: Friday morning when I left for the airport, I forgot my book – again. This is nothing new, I usually leave whatever book I’m reading at the time in the place it fell the night before. So I bought The Kite Runner in paperback at the Little Rock Airport bookstore at about 6:00 am. Besides the $17.00 I had to shell out, I’m really glad for my mistake. The Kite Runner is an amazing account of growing up in pre-Soviet and pre-Taliban Afghanistan. This is the story of the relationships between fathers and sons, sons and friends, and people with their countries. Despite many shortcomings on the part of the narrator, he never loses the reader’s sympathy. This DEFINITELY beats the in flight magazine.

{ 6 comments }

Mary December 8, 2006 at 11:28 am
Corner

Carrie, I only read non fiction. The Kite Runner, though, was highly recommended by someone who also only reads non fictions.

It is terrific – well written, sad and a beautiful story of relationships.

The author was scheduled to come out with another book this past summer, but didn’t make the deadline. I’d rather wait for another “great read”.

Corner
Mary Jo December 8, 2006 at 3:36 pm
Corner

I loved this book!

It was hard to remember that it was fiction. I wonder how much was drawn from real life events.

Corner
Business Travel Logue December 8, 2006 at 5:22 pm
Corner

Mary Jo, you are SO right! It was really difficult remembering the events and characters weren’t real.

Corner
TEFL Logue December 10, 2006 at 1:12 am
Corner

I second (third?fourth?) your review – fantastic book. Mary, I was also disappointed that his second book wasn’t out this summer but will keep my eyes open.

Corner
Liger2007 November 26, 2007 at 12:46 pm
Corner

I love Hosseini’s confrontation with pivotal issues that are still prevalent in Afghanistan today. Paramount Vantage, the studio producing the film, postponed the release date back six weeks in an attempt to ensure the safety of the young actors in the film. The controversial rape scene and the political unrest between the Hazara and Pashtun are showcased in the movie http://www.kiterunnermovie.com It is a shame that the very topics Hosseini discusses in his novel are still, obviously, present today – so much so that a mere ind

Corner
The Kite Runner Cliff Notes January 20, 2008 at 5:55 pm
Corner

“The Kite Runner” an awesome book, great attention to details. Every single page made me cry, laugh, warmed up my heart with love, and made me angry… I cried non-stop throughout the book.

Corner

Comments on this entry are closed.

Previous post:

Next post: