Business Travel Guide |
Home Entertainment Flight Tracker Frequent Flyer Programs Hotel Rewards Information Expert Flyer

Cingular Wireless International Roaming

CingularUnlike many US based cellular companies, Cingular is on the GSM Network. That means Cingular customers can place and receive calls in 185 countries throughout the world. In addition, data services such as SMS text messaging are available in 120 countries.

First, you need to determine if your phone in particular will work. Most recently purchased phones shouldn’t be a problem. If you have one of the following models, your phone should work in any GSM country you visit: Motorola MPX220, Motorola V180, Motorola V220, Motorola V3, Motorola V551, Motorola V557, palmOne Treo 600, palmOne Treo 650, RIM BlackBerry 7100g,
RIM BlackBerry 7290, RIM BlackBerry 8700c, Siemens SX66, Sony Ericsson w600i, Sony Ericsson Z520a. If you have one of the following, your phone will work in all countries with the exception of those in the 900 MHz band: Audiovox SMT5600, LG C1300i, LG C1500, LG C2000, Motorola E1, Nokia 3120, Nokia 3220, Nokia 6102, Nokia 6230, Nokia 6620, Samsung D307, Samsung P207, Samsung P777, Samsung x497, Sony Ericsson s710a, Sony Ericsson Z500a.

GlobeIf it doesn’t work, you can purchase a world phone from Cingular or you can rent a phone from BootsnAll. This page will also give you information on buying a SIM card for your destination of choice. If you plan on traveling outside the country frequently it would be worth buying one of the pricey phones. If you’re taking infrequent trips, rental may be the way to go.

If your phone works, you need to activate your international roaming. Before you leave the US or Canada, call 1.866.CINGULAR or visit a retail store to activate international roaming or international long distance on your plan.

Your phone will operate like a local phone in the country you visit. For tips on using your phone abroad, check here.

Cingular also has a great Wireless Travel Guide that will let you select the countries you’re visiting, your cellular device and give you the rates for each country.

TowerCountries Served: Afghanistan, Albania, Algeria, American Samoa, Andorra, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Aruba, Ascension Island, Australia, Austria, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belgium, Belize, Benin, Bermuda, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia, Botswana, Brazil British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Canada, Cape Verde, Cayman Islands, Central African, Chad, Chile, China, Cocos Island, COlombia, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic), Congo (Republic of), Cook Islands, Costa Rica, Croatia, Cuba, Curacao, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Diego Garcia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, East Timor, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Estonia, Ethiopia, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, France, French Guiana, French Polynesia, Gabon, Gambia, Gaza and West Bank, Georgia, Germany, Ghana, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Guadaloupe, Guam, Guatemala, Guernsey, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, India, Indonesia, Iran, Ireland, Isle of Man, Israel, Italy, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Japan, Jersey, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Macao, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Malta, Marshall Islands, Martinique, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mayotte, Mexico, Micronesia, Moldova, Monaco, Mongolia, Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar (Burma), Nambia, Nauru, Nepal, Netherlands Antilles, Netherlands, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Niue, Norfolk Islands, North Korea, Northern Mariana, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Palestinian Authority, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Pitcairn Islands, Poland, Portugal, Puerto Rico, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, San Marino, Sao Tome, Saudi Arabia, Sengal, Serbia and Montenegro, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Sri Lanka, St. Helena, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Maarten, St. Pierre, St. Vincent and the Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tokelau, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, US Virgin Islands, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, United Kingdom, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vatican City, Venezuela, Vietnam, Wallis and Futuna, Yemen, Zambia and Zimbabwe.